Care Certificate Units -Skills for Care 

The Care Certificate gives everyone the confidence that workers have the same induction - learning the same skills, knowledge and behaviours to provide compassionate, safe and high quality care and support.

The Care Certificate is the start of the career journey and is only one element of the training and education that will make them ready to practice within their specific sector.

Although the Care Certificate is designed for new staff, it also offers opportunities for existing staff to refresh or improve their knowledge. 

Standards that are covered:

  1. Understand your role

  2. Your personal development

  3. Duty of care

  4. Equality and diversity

  5. Work in a person centred way              

  6. Communication

  7. Privacy and dignity

  8. Fluids and nutrition

  9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities

  10. Safeguarding adults

  11. Safeguarding children

  12. Basic life support

  13. Health and safety

  14. Handling information

  15. Infection prevention and control